Rackham in Wonderland

Over about the past year or so in my Etsy shops, I’ve expanded my reach a bit from reproductions of the original postcards and Victorian trade cards I was using, and am now including items made from vintage book illustrations from the Victorian and Edwardian eras.

Of course I’m including some of the classics: Arthur Rackham, Edmund Dulac, Charles Robinson and the like, as well as some lesser-known artists including Félix Lorioux, Milo Winter, and Willy Pogany. 

Lately I’ve been focusing on Rackham. Ever since childhood I’ve been a fan of Rackham’s illustrations, due to the collection of antique books my parents had. One of my favorites was the Alice in Wonderland book, for which he did the illustrations in 1907. So for the past several weeks I’ve been working on a suite of Wonderland cards and fabric blocks in my Etsy stores. 

His work is so distinctive, and will always be the Alice I see in my mind when I think of her:

The Mad Hatter's Tea PartyAlthough I’ve loved the various Alice movies over the years (and especially liked Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter), Rackham’s rendering of Wonderland will always be my favorite.

Stop by my Etsy card store, KatyDids Cards or fabric shop KatyDids Fabrics to see more Rackham Alice in Wonderland items I have available. 

Leave a Reply

